A virtual Turing Church on the Moon in VR

Giulio Prisco
Turing Church
Published in
2 min readDec 16, 2019

--

I have long been thinking of a Virtual Reality (VR) space for Turing Church talks, events, informal gatherings, and why not real religious services.

I tried to launch similar projects in the past, but previous attempts didn’t attract a critical mass of participants.

Perhaps the technologies used were not yet robust or user-friendly enough? I will try again: I am experimenting with some promising technologies.

I am starting a project called Luna MUVE to develop Multi-User Virtual Environments (MUVEs) for the Moon. Within Luna MUVE, I will build a virtual Turing Church.

Luna MUVE starts as a hobby project, so don’t expect much soon. Take a look at the draft project website, and of course you are invited to join the project as a volunteer.

This is a long term project, started with a promise made to my future 70 years old self in 2027. But the first Luna MUVE prototype, with the virtual Turing Church, will be deployed much before that.

Stay tuned!

Cover image from Pixnio.

--

--

Writer, futurist, sometime philosopher. Author of “Tales of the Turing Church” and “Futurist spaceflight meditations.”