VIDEO: Terasem Space Day, July 20, 2021

Giulio Prisco
Turing Church
Published in
2 min readJul 22, 2021

--

The Terasem Space Day Colloquium 2021 was held on Tuesday, July 20, 2021, the anniversary of Apollo 11, via Zoom.

The Terasem Space Day covered spaceflight, geopolitics, future scenarios, space philosophy and culture, and spiritual implications. I wish to thank all speakers for their great talks and lively discussions.

Speakers:

Video

Here’s the full video of the Terasem Space Day 2021 with all talks and Q/A.

My impressions and thoughts

In my short introduction and in the discussions I highlighted some of the main threads in my new book “Futurist spaceflight meditations” [*]:

  • At this moment, Western democracies are unable to complete long term space programs. Taking advantage of this, China is planning to achieve space supremacy. To stay in the game, the West needs to build bipartisan and multi-partisan support for ambitious long term space programs.
  • Expanding into the black sky, protecting the green Earth, and building a fairer and nicer society, are not mutually exclusive goals. On the contrary, these goals share the same cultural DNA and can/should/must support each other.
  • Space philosophy, and our great expectations of unlimited human futures in the black sky, have important spiritual implications. This is my interpretation of Terasem. Space philosophy can/should/must trickle down to popular culture and collective consciousness.

I’m happy to see that the speakers mostly agree, but this is not surprising since I have been influenced by their work.

[*] My book “Futurist spaceflight meditations” is available for readers to buy on Amazon (Kindle | paperback).

Please buy my books, and/or donate to support other Turing Church projects.

Cover picture: screenshots.

--

--

Writer, futurist, sometime philosopher. Author of “Tales of the Turing Church” and “Futurist spaceflight meditations.”